How a sculpture begins

by Nancy Lovendahl

A commission comes to an artist for many different reasons.  I’ve been thinking about the process my recent commission, THE GATHERING, followed after the collectors walked through my door at the invitation of a long-time friend and designer.  She and I had worked on many projects over the years and they were always good experiences.  This designer had the uncanny ability to match clients and artists.  No one’s time is wasted as this pro does her due diligence before any calls are made.  This is important to learn about a dealer or contact upfront.  You can’t push them into liking your artwork and at the same time, they’ll remember you if you keep them updated, too.  I’m the fortunate one to work with someone like her and had updated her about what I was carving down the street. Oh, yeah… she lives 2 blocks away making studio visits very easy.  Especially on warm nights when a work day is done!

Unbeknownst to me, these clients and said designer had been looking at my stonework for 3 years before pursuing an outdoor table to sit by a creek in rural Gunnison County, CO.  These weren’t ordinary collectors.  They had an eclectic and loved collection of ethnic and contemporary pieces.  It then turned out that we were all from Chicago.  He had even worked with my late father-in-law in business.  We knew each other in 10″ time.  The designer just smiled and let us roll.  We were off and running putting together a check list of the needs they had collected over the 10 years of living in this extraordinary house out in the country.  So we started….The Gathering - FullView more next post.

